Kefir-rific!

I met with the dietitian and we decided instead of going full FODMAP diet crazy, I should slowly make changes to what and how I eat.  These changes include Kefir - a really tart, really odd tasting, thick milk byproduct that has more and different probiotics than yogurt and it has a ton of protein - which I am supposed to be getting more of.  Like 80-90 grams of protein a day.  And I have to take the Kefir in small amounts throughout the day so it "replants" my guts continually.  It's not bad in plain form but it's better in a smoothie.  I'm pretty much smoothie-ing everything and trying to eat little bits throughout the day instead of just one or two huge meals.  I'm also lowering the amount of fat I intake at one time. And I'm trying to be mostly gluten free. Trying being the operative word here. 

I'm supposed to take a ton of supplements and stuff but I haven't gotten them yet.  I need to make this transition a little slower.  I don't want to do everything all at once because if something goes wrong and I get sicker I won't know what caused it.  Also, if I start getting better I want to know what did it.

So, that's what's happening now.  Another note on the Kefir - it's better than a lot of the other stuff I have had to drink because of my illnesses.  That's one good thing.  It's also lactose and gluten free.  I've actually noticed I am beginning to crave it sometimes.  It's weird.   

Comments